Menu
Home Page

Year 5

Click the link below to access 2022-23 Year 5's Gallery to see what fun we are having in our class!

2022-23

Welcome to Year 5.  Croeso!

Staff in Year 5: Mrs S. Reece, Mr P Smith, Mrs K Jones

 

We are absolutely thrilled to have you all in our class this year! We intend to continue to work as hard as we can, to ensure we can help you become the best that you can be. We are so excited to see lots of your smiles as we learn new and exciting things together. Learning is a two way process and it is important we help each other along on our journeys. 

 

 

 

2022-23 topics

AUTUMN TERM  : Cool Cultures (Humanities AoLE theme) Amazing Africa

 You have already shared what you would like to learn during this term in our EPIC (Everyone Planning In Class) time during transition week, and we are working hard to plan and prepare these learning experiences.

 

 

Estuary Education Dates until half term

Monday 12th September

Tuesday 27th September (PE will be on Monday 26th Sept this week) 

Monday 10th October

Monday 24th October

 

After half term:

Monday 14th November,

Monday 28th November,

Monday 12th December

 

PE Days:   Please make sure you are wearing suitable outdoor clothing and trainers for these sessions. Every other week, we will be having our Estuary Education and this will replace one of our PE weekly slots. We will also be developing our mindfulness and resilience sessions as part of our Health and Well-being Area of Learning and Experience (AoLE)   

 

PE days

Tuesday 13th Sept (Mr Smith)

Tuesday 20th Sept (Mr Smith) and Friday 23rd Sept (Mrs Reece)

Monday 26th Sept (Mr Smith)

Tuesday 4th October (Mr Smith) and Friday 7th October (Mrs Reece)

Tuesday 11th October (Mr Smith) 

Tuesday 18th October and Friday 21st October (Mrs Reece)

Tuesday 25th October (Mr Smith)

 

After half term:

Tuesday 8th September (Mr Smith)

Tuesday 15th September (Mr Smith) 

Tuesday 22nd November (Mr Smith) and Friday 25th (Mrs Reece)

Tuesday 29th November (Mr Smith)

Tuesday 6th November (Mr Smith) and Friday 9th December (Mrs Reece)

Tuesday 13th December (Mr Smith)

Tuesday 20th December (Mr Smith) and Friday 23rd December (Mrs Reece)

 

 

 

There may be times where the nature reserve may be utilised also, and it may be a little muddy in the Autumn months. Please help us by reminding Mums and Dads to work with us and make sure you understand that sometimes, footwear may become a little muddy.  

 

Reading At Casllwchwr, we do many forms of reading:
Guided reading in groups and whole class  (same text for whole group- decided by the teacher with lots of talk involved teaching objectives)
Shared   (paired ,group and whole class)
Independent   (own choice)

Please make sure you have access to your library reading books into school every day.

Keep your Reading Eggs password safe! You will access Reading Eggspress for comprehension work.  We understand it may be hard for Mums and Dads to hear you read every night, so be independent and read to yourself when they can’t hear you. Try to alternate it as much as possible and try to read a range of books.

 

Homework
Mondays: 
Homework given out on a Monday and to be completed by the Friday.   Check our class blog weekly for the set tasks. This can be found by going to the tree on the left hand side of the school website and clicking 'Class Blogs' and then you search for the Y5 blog. 

 

Friday Dictation Challenge 

Once children have become familiar with and have practised the weekly spelling words, both at home and at school, they will be given a dictation challenge on the Friday.  This will allow them to show how they are able to apply the words to their writing and will also give opportunities to practise punctuation and grammar skills.  We are really keen to emphasise to the children that they are learning spellings and punctuation, not for a ‘test’, but instead to become more confident, competent writers.  


                   Reading every night for 20 minutes

 

Oracy Projects: 1 in the Autumn linked to topic and 1 in the Summer, linked to topic. These need to be something that you are interested in. 

 

 Let's make our class the best that it can be, and always "Smile, love and be kind!' so that we remain happy. Happy classrooms are THE best places to be.

 

To contact Mrs Reece

To contact Mr. Smith

Top